Minolta XG1 part 1 – Baliem Valley, West-Papua

Last month when I was in Indonesia, I also had a Minolta XG1 with me. It’s a 35mm SLR camera that is over 30 years old.
Some days ago I had the films developed and just two days ago I received the prints. And I thought they looked marvelous. Yesterday I asked the company if they digitalized the films before printing and yes, they did. So this afternoon I got a cd with the digital versions.

So here are some of the analog unaltered pictures I took. This is a selection of 8 pictures taken in the Baliem Valley in central West-Papua (Irian Jaya). Enjoy!

peace out,
©bruno

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

Baliem Valley, West-Papua - ©bruno catteeuw

18 thoughts on “Minolta XG1 part 1 – Baliem Valley, West-Papua

  1. oh my god…
    I was there i mean in wamena but did not think there were many nice pictures can I take
    tomorrow I will also hunt a good picture
    Can you show where it is located ?

  2. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only |

  3. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only «

  4. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only | buzzcarl

  5. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only - topcarltopcarl

  6. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only - Apprecify

  7. Pingback: 25 Epic Travel Destinations For Hardened Adventurers Only « Apprecify

  8. Dear Bruno,

    Your pictures are amazing!

    I have written a companion book about Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckoff for the publishing company Behind the Story. I am now in need of a few pictures. If possible, can I have the copy rights to use minimally a picture of the Baliem Valley? Really, any picture I can use I will take as there aren’t many shared images available to use at will.

    I hope to hear from you soon and thank you for your help with this matter,

    Mary Niven

    • Dear Mary,

      Thank you very much for the lovely comment.
      You have my permission to use my pictures as long as my name is mentioned as photographer of the pictures.

      Good luck with the book,
      Bruno

      • Thank you and of course your name will be under each photo.

        I am going to use 2 pictures of the Baliem Valley and 1 of a Dani man holding a spear.

        It will really help the readers have some sort of reference point as to how deep the valley really is.

        Sincerely,

        Mary

      • Hi Mary,
        Sorry it took me so long to reply.
        It is quite hard to say how deep the baliem valley is. At some point the surrounding mountain tops are 200, 300 or maybe even 400 metres higher than the Baliem river. But it is very hard to say. If you want to know the exact depth I suggest you will have to find a topographic map of the area.

        Sincerely,
        Bruno

      • Hello Bruno, I would love to experience this part of the world some day (at least I can vicariously through people like you!). What brought you there? Thank you for your suggestion, but your photos are spot on in order for readers to be able to conjure up some sort of mental image and therefore enhanced comprehension of the location where the book Lost In Shangri-La (for which I am writing a companion reader) took place. Have you read this book? The book tells an amazing true story that is wonderfully written and researched by its author Mitchel Zuckoff. That being said, it is really the people that I would most like to experience. The human commonalities and disparities of people from tribal ways of life versus our currency dependent/property ownership based globalized society into which the majority of humans are born has always fascinated me. It was also the number one element that drew me to Lost In Shangri-La. Thank you for your time, Mary P.S., are you in the States? Just curious.

        Date: Wed, 22 Oct 2014 18:33:54 +0000 To: mary_niven@hotmail.com

  9. Pingback: 14 Breathtaking Destinations for Memorable Adventures | TravelerDaily.com

Leave a Reply

