A broken leg in pictures

The 12th of May I had a quite painful football (soccer) accident. My leg had the unpleasant feeling to meet  the weight of two other players. And my leg experienced the same as what  a branch of a tree would experience when you put your full weight on it. It snapped. To be more precise, my tibia broke in three places and my fibula in one.
So below you can find some pictures I took with my phone and some of the X-ray pictures that were taken in hospital.

My leg upon arrival in the hospital - ©bruno catteeuw

My leg upon arrival in the hospital – ©bruno catteeuw

After surgery I woke with an awkward piece of metal, called an external fixture, on top of my lower leg - ©bruno catteeuw

After surgery I woke with an awkward piece of metal, called an external fixture, on top of my lower leg – ©bruno catteeuw

X-ray with the external fixture on and in my leg - ©bruno catteeuw

X-ray with the external fixture on and in my leg – ©bruno catteeuw

After this first surgery, I received a second opinion from another surgeon. At that point I had to make the choice between this external fixture on my leg or a second surgery. I chose the second surgery. In that surgery a titanium bar of 36 cm. length and 11,5mm. diameter was put straight into the core of my leg. Below you can see the result.

After the 2nd surgery all the metal was gone on the outside - ©bruno catteeuw

After the 2nd surgery all the metal was gone on the outside – ©bruno catteeuw

2nd surgery, they put 36cm of titanium straight into the center of my tibia - ©bruno catteeuw

2nd surgery, they put 36cm of titanium straight into the center of my tibia – ©bruno catteeuw

2nd surgery, they put 36cm of titanium straight into the center of my tibia - ©bruno catteeuw

2nd surgery, they put 36cm of titanium straight into the center of my tibia – ©bruno catteeuw

All stitches removed, this is how my leg looks like right now - ©bruno catteeuw

All stitches removed, this is how my leg looks like right now – ©bruno catteeuw

So, after a little bit more than a month, I’m walking around on crutches or rolling around in my wheelchair. The rehabilitation will be a long road I’ll have to take. Swimming and probably some biking will be the only sports I can do for a few months. But I’m optimistic. So come on, let’s do this!!!

peace out,
©bruno

One thought on “A broken leg in pictures

  1. Thank you for the picts! I had horrible car accident on Sept. 1,2014. In coma for 6 days & woke with exact same fixture on my right leg. Its been about 7 weeks now & still on. I apparently shattered my patella,or kneecap. Have been wondering how this would be removed. Good to know that Doc isn’t going to just put his hands on the bar and pull it out!😠 Hope on Nov 4th we will be scheduling my surgery to take place ASAP! I’m scared but really want this heavy,painful metal rod out of my body and sleep on my side again. Thanx again for your very informative & inspirational story.

    Tonya

Leave a Reply

